It was installed on the territory of the Yalta port, on the edge of the concrete pier. The current building was built in 1908. Prior to this, from 1874, there was a temporary port lighthouse at this place, which met ships with a red light.
Currently, it is a functioning lighthouse that provides safe navigation along the South Coast and when ships enter the Yalta passenger port.
The lighthouse is clearly visible from the Yalta promenade and from the uppermost cable road station.